ASELA appoints Thurrock Council Leader as Chair

Cllr Andrew Jefferies, Leader of Thurrock Council, will take on the role of Chair for The Association of South Essex Local Authorities (ASELA) following agreement at a meeting of the ASELA Joint Committee on Thursday 27 July 2023.

The Association of South Essex Local Authorities (ASELA) consists of Basildon, Brentwood, Castle Point, Essex County, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea, and Thurrock Councils.

All seven councils have recognised the need to work across borders on strategic issues such as infrastructure, planning and growth. Leaders and Chief Executives from each council come together regularly to explore how South Essex can become a dynamic, modern place providing the conditions for people, communities and businesses to prosper.

Cllr Andrew Jefferies said: “The ASELA partnership has achieved a great deal for South Essex since its inception. I am proud to take on the role of Chair of this important partnership, and grateful to the group for their ongoing support as we forge ahead with bold ambitions to deliver improved growth and prosperity for the people of South Essex.”

Cllr Andrew Jefferies’ appointment follows the departure of Chris Hossack, former Leader of Brentwood Council earlier this year. Cllr Andrew Jefferies has been Leader of Thurrock Council since May 2023.

Find more information on the work of The Association of South Essex Local Authorities